Whitchurch United 3 – Bemerton Heath Harlequins 2

The first hurdle to playing at Wembley was overcome when FA Cup action came to Whitchurch, with the ‘Jam Boys’ taking a deserved win over Bemerton Heath Harlequins in the Extra Preliminary Round of the FA Cup. The club was last in the FA Cup, 15 years ago.

It was always going to be a tense match with The Harlequins, who play in the Sydenhams Wessex Premier League, winning their last game 5-1, holding 2nd in their league, and being unbeaten this season. Meanwhile Whitchurch Utd are 7th in the division below, but had their tails up after a win last week against East Cowes.

A good crowd saw Whitchurch haranguing the Bemerton defence and taking most of the initiative, which paid off with two goals in the first half. At times the visitors looked sluggish as the crowd cheered on the home side.

After the break the pressure continued and within minutes the ball was again hitting back of the net. Bemerton could not break through, despite some good runs from deep as the Whitchurch defence packed tight and showed their mettle.

A penalty to the visitors seemed to ignite them and they threw everything they could at the home side, and when a second was scored it seemed as if they might just snatch a draw. But it was not to be and after an anxious last few minutes the final whistle blew and Whitchurch were through.

The next round…
They are now drawn at home against Isle of Wight team Brading Town, who they play on Saturday 3rd September. Brading have a strong defence but are missing some key players through injuries. It will be a tough game, but all hope will be on Whitchurch taking another Wessex Premier Division scalp.

Next games at Longmeadow
Meanwhile the first team’s next game is also at home, a league match next Saturday (27th) against Amesbury Town with a 3pm kick off.
Before that Longmeadow sees the Reserves taking on Winchester City this Tuesday at 7.45pm
______________

The road to Wembley…

Extra Preliminary Round: Saturday 20 August 2011
Whitchurch 3 – 2 Bemerton Heath Harlequins

Preliminary Round: Saturday 3 September 2011
Whitchurch v Brading Town

First Round Qualifying: Saturday 17 September 2011
Whitchurch or Brading Town v Lymington Town or Sherborne Town, or Downton or Brockenhurst

Second Round Qualifying: Saturday 1 October 2011:

Third Round Qualifying: Saturday 15 October 2011

Fourth Round Qualifying: Saturday 29 October 2011

First Round Proper: Saturday 12 November 2011

Second Round Proper: Saturday 3 December 2011

Third Round Proper: Saturday 7 January 2012

Fourth Round Proper: Saturday 28 January 2012

Fifth Round Proper: Saturday 18 February 2012

Sixth Round Proper: Saturday 17 March 2012

Semi-Final: Saturday 14 April & Sunday 15 April 2012

FINAL: Saturday 5 May 2012
Whitchurch v ????
We can hope and live the dream!

______________

To comment or to send a Letter to the website contact:
contact@whitchurch.org.uk

THE WHITCHURCH LETTERS PAGE