It was all ‘shuffle’ at the Town Council at its Annual Meeting on Monday. The meeting sets the Committees that deal with local issues for the coming year as well as electing its new Chairman, Town Mayor and Deputy.

Whitchurch town badge 2012 smSummary of a Mayoral year
Cllr Andy Jordan gave a resumé of his year as Chairman and Mayor, in which he has introduced several initiatives. These have been aimed at providing a firm footing for the Council for coming years particularly in the areas of budget planning and strategies and paid tribute to all who had assisted in developing these.
Cllr Jordan also emphasised the importance of the Neighbourhood Plan, the excellent work by David George and his team in creating it, and the need for a successful Referendum result.  He went on to express his thanks to fellow Councillors, the Town Clerks who support the whole community, and to his wife Cllr Rebecca Jordan, who as Mayoress had supported him throughout his term.

New Mayor and Deputy Mayor – and other positions
Mayors Badge smElections followed for the forthcoming year with the new Chairman and Mayor being Cllr John Buckley, while Cllr Fiona Nicholson will be the new Deputy.

Cllr Rebecca Jordan was selected as Chair of the Policy and Resources Committee and Cllr Barry Jackman as Chairman of the Town Hall Trustees.

Committee members of the Development and of the Leisure & Environment Committees were also determined – they select their Chairpersons at their first meeting.
Representatives to various outside bodies were also appointed – these include the Millennium Green Trust, Association of Parish Councils, Whitchurch Association, Whitchurch Silk Mill, Friends of QEII Field, BDBC Transport Infrastructure Advisory Group, Whitchurch Welfare Trust and the Royal British Legion.

The next Town Council Meetings are:

Monday 15th May, 7.30pm
Development Committee

Monday 22nd May, 7.30pm
Leisure & Environment Committee

Monday 5th June, 7.30pm
Full Town Council

Members of the public are welcome to attend all the above.