Whitchurch town badge 2012 smWhitchurch Town Council has started its new year with the election of its new Committees.

Mayor and Deputy Mayor 2018–19
At last week’s full Town Council Meeting – the Annual Meeting – councillors voted to elect Cllr John Buckley and Cllr Fiona Nicholson as Mayor and Deputy Mayor respectively, both for a second successive term. John and Fiona also hold the roles of Chairman and Deputy Chairman of the Town Council. They hold their offices until May 2019.
Cllr John Buckley said:
Mayors Badge sm

“This is a wonderful honour for both of us to be selected for a second term. We have a very good team of very committed Councillors, all unpaid volunteers who work well together giving their own time to the well-being of Whitchurch. I am driven by the need for everyone to have the opportunity for their views to be considered as we move into some exciting and challenging times.
We look forward to the Council and all residents working together for our lovely town and parish. We are always accessible to help if we can.”

Policy and Resources
Also elected was Cllr Barry Jackman as Chairman of the Policy and Resources Committee which oversees the Council’s finances and staffing matters. Barry has much expertise in practical matters within the functions of the Town Council which will be invaluable.

Town Hall clock 1Town Hall Trustees
Cllr Jackman was also elected as Chairman of the Town Hall Trust, a separate legal body that looks after the Town Hall, one of Whitchurch’s most historic and valuable assets.

Other Committees and Representatives
Members were also appointed to the two other Town Council Committees – the Development Committee and the Leisure and Environment Committee as well as to positions that represent the Town Council on various other bodies ranging from the Whitchurch Association to the Welfare Trust and the Silk Mill.
The current list can be viewed on the Town Council’s website at:

The Town Council still seeks two further members to bring it to full complement of twelve around the table. Anyone who wishes to be considered for co-option should contact the Town Clerk on 01256 892107, call in the Town Hall Office, or email:
“It can be very rewarding”